Nadia Comaneci a la Mexicana (Part 2)

Nearly a year ago I wrote this post about Nadia Comaneci and Thalia, Nadia Comaneci a la Mexicana, to which I received some really nice reactions from both of them hihi😀

As I was fortunately enough to get a sneak peak of Thalia’s book, Growing Stronger (special thanks to the person who made it possible), I found this excerpt where Thalia mentions Nadia:

“After I had recovered from Lyme disease, my muscles were left totally flaccid, and they required extensive toning. As a child I always wanted to be an Olympic gymnast, and after seeing Nadia Comaneci win her gold medals in 1976 with a perfect ten, I yearned to be just like her. After beating the worst parts of the disease, I looked for a way to make that a reality and to grant that wish to my inner child.”

And thanks to this wonderful thing called Twitter, I showed it to Nadia and guess what? A few minutes later she tweeted this:

Reading that fragment from Thalia’s book and knowing that Nadia read it too makes me really happy, I think the connection they have is great, and I can’t stop wondering if they’ve already met each other personally😀

I’m ending this post by telling you that today’s Nadia’s birthday, she turned 50! I think there’s no need to say that Nadia Comaneci is a true legend of Gymnastics and Romania is extremely proud of her, so we all wish her the best! May she continue to inspire many, many more people!🙂

Happy Birthday, Nadia!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John H. Schneider II
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 03:06:33

    Nadia has been and is an inspiration for everyone!!

    John H. Schneider II

    Reply

  2. Paula Azevedo (@pinpau)
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 01:05:57

    very nice!!🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thalia the Yoga Master « Enséñame a vivir

Leave a Reply

