Journey to the past: Thalia.com throughout the years

Later edit: Well, this is a bit awkward. When the idea of writing this post came to me, I was afraid that someone will tell me “Oh, nice, but it’s already been done!” so now I feel like I’ve discovered something that had already been discovered much earlier… Turns out that Ruthie aka PlanetThalia already wrote a similar post a month ago (and boy, they are very similar, but I honestly had absolutely no idea of it) and you can find it here: La Historia de la Pagina Oficial de Thalia por Thalia.com She was even kind enough to tell me that mine’s much better than hers… Well, I don’t know about that… I can only say that “Great minds think alike.”🙂 Thanks, Ruthie!

Also, thanks to everyone who read this post and shared it on Twitter/Facebook/websites and to those of you who gave me your opinion or thoughts on it, it really means a lot to me! To most of you I’ve brought back some good memories as I intended to and I’m happy to know that.🙂

A couple of nights ago I accidentally found a time machine which gave me the possibility to visit the past versions of Thalia’s website, Thalia.com

You can’t imagine how excited I felt! For a fan like me, who has been around Thalia and her world for only the past two years, having the opportunity to explore her website from the (very) beginning and being able to enjoy the things that her fans back then could enjoy is incredibly awesome! I felt as if I had discovered the best “thalyfan” treasure ever!

I’ve decided to make a short presentation of what I found, for those of you who actually spent hours/days/months/years on these sites, I hope this will bring back some nice memories, and for those of you, who just like me, didn’t have the chance to do so, I hope you’ll enjoy this as much as I did!

Well, my journey started with 2001, when Thalia’s site looked something like this:

Unfortunately, I couldn’t access it because AOL browsers are long gone (as I didn’t find any installation file at all).

 Then, the site changed in 2002, having its front page looking like this:

The intro was a short collage of photos with Reencarnacion as soundtrack.

However, I wasn’t able to access the rest of the site either😦

In 2003, this was the front page of the site:

A few months later, the arrival of a new page was announced like this:

 I hope you’re still reading this, cause this is where it gets really good! We’re now entering the site at that time!

What do you think? Pretty cool, huh?

I started going through all the menu options and this is part of what was there:

– a post by Thalia herself on the news page (there were lots of them)

Here are the two pictures:

– a part of the news archive:

– Romania was mentioned there too!

– part of the music page, where you could listen to songs and see the lyrics:

– the telenovelas page, with info about them:

– and my favorite part, Thalia’s timeline:

I looooved this! Especially because of the photos at the bottom of each information.

What else do we have? Oh, yes, the photo gallery, from which I extracted the backstage photos:

 

Wonderful photos!

The site also offered fans some goodies, wallpapers and ecards:

This one above is my favorite!!

I also managed to sneak into the forum and read what fans had to say about Thalia back then🙂

And I loved reading these posts:

A few more photos of her cute puppies😀

This one’s adorable, driving his little car around! (backwards haha)

In 2004, the site changed again and as soon as you’d access it, Thalia would greet you:

Hi, this is Thalia. Welcome to my official web site, Thalia.com

When the music started playing, her voice let you know that you are listening to “T-Radio”🙂

The design was really nice, loved the chihuahua jumping around the playlist and the photos featured on each page:

The music page and photo gallery:

The tv/movies and press ones:

The forum:

Thalia revealed:

The store:

And the Fan Quilt, where fans could introduce themselves and contact each other (I think):

More wallpapers:

In 2005, Thalia.com – El sexto sentido was released. You can still access it here: thalia.com/elsextosentido

And in 2007, the current version of the site seems to have been launched, right before the release of Lunada:

It hasn’t changed since then (although I could be mistaken and there might have been another version in 2007,2008…)

The only one that has changed is the front page, in 2009 with the release of Primera Fila and in 2011, with Primera Fila – Un ano despues:

For some reason, the forum was deactivated and the site, although it has a great design, it’s not so visited and updated as it was in the past.

It’s great though that nowadays we can be in direct contact with Thalia through her Twitter page, the times have changed and so did the communication means, but the one thing that hasn’t changed at all is the beautiful relationship that Thalia has with all of us, it doesn’t matter whether it’s on a forum or on a social network, as long as she’s so close to us, reading our messages, blogs (😀 ) and simply knowing that we’re here and that we LOVE ♥ her so much! Thalia, thank you for being just the way you are!

That’s all for now, I hope you liked this post and the photos I showed you, if there’s anyone interested in knowing how I was able to visit the previous versions of Thalia.com and doing it yourselves, please leave a comment and I’ll contact you. I’d like to keep the secret to myself and to share it only with those who really want to enjoy the pages, remember the forum and the good old times, because this is my precious treasure haha and I don’t want anyone to take advantage of my little discovery😛

Thanks for reading!

Ps: If you’re going to take any of the things I put in this post, I would really appreciate you giving me the credits.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AFS
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 18:43:06

    El foro de thalia.com fue desactivado por que existen pseudos fans que en lugar de criticar constructivamente, decidieron insultar a Thalía en su propio foro oficial.

    The Forum was deactivated thalia.com false because there are fans that instead of criticizing constructively, Thalia decided to insult their own official forum.

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 18:49:54

      thanks for the info!
      but somehow it doesn’t seem fair to me, haters are everywhere and every artist has them. why should her real fans “suffer” from that? with a few more moderators to delete the posts or ban the fake fans I think that issue could have been solved without having to close the forum…

      Reply

  2. Mariel
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:27:42

    I think I know what ‘trick’ you did to see the past version of the site.. and i wont share it either lol (shhhh only us techies will know lol) i also even saw a thalia store link too with it

    as for the forum being close, i think it’s a big relief somehow that it was close since it’s being moderated by such not nice moderator (thinks that she’s waaaay better than any fans and looks down on other fans, not to mention a super racist too). the closure of the forum means the end of the ‘reign’ of that moderator over other fans

    as i’ve said as a reply in twitter, great job on this post! i really dont have the effort doing something like this😄

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:37:32

      sssshhhhhhh, I knew YOU would know!!! hahahahaha and yeah, only us techies should know😛

      I have no idea what happened on that forum and who you’re talking about

      PS: thanks for mentioning the reply, i would have missed it because you wrote my nickname wrong hahaha

      Reply

      • Mariel
        Feb 07, 2012 @ 20:09:49

        havent you’ve been member of the forum before it close? because if it is, you should have know the moderator there, and that’s the bad guy there lol (told you the name in dm)

        anyway, ohh well, i hate my self again mistyping your twitter name arrrrgggghhh! lol i was actually right in the middle of watching movie while im facebooking, twtittering, wikipedia in between the scenes.. the reason of my typos lol

      • anamariao7
        Feb 07, 2012 @ 21:13:49

        no, when I first time I visited thalia.com the forum was already closed, I think… thanks for the info!😀

  3. Paula Azevedo (@pinpau)
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 20:31:21

    Great job Ana-Maria!!😀

    I agree with you that it’s a kind of treasure and I’m happy you could found it. My favorite part of all is also Thalia’s Timeline, that time her site was very well updated. Besides her many pictures of pets and backstages at news section, Thalía would upload lots of little videos which were the top treats. I wish you could find some of these, it was like twits posts before twitter.

    Unfortunately the 2002 version is unabled, it was beautiful.. and it was not the very first one but one of the oldest, sure. I wanna know the trick to visit it, specially what you could review from the forum.

    Keep on the fun!!

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 21:16:24

      hey Paula!! it’s great to have your comments here again! I’ll look for those videos you mentioned, I haven’t had time to explore the whole treasure cave yet😛

      Reply

  4. matiaspsicologia
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 23:55:15

    Wow, cuantos recuerdos de aquel sitio del 2001,y como fue mutando a través del tiempo, me encantaba el foro que tenia antiguamente, habian fans de todas partes del mundo, y era muy divertido,pasabamos horas debatiendo,dps lo tuvieron que desactivar porque se lleno de anti-fans insultando a Thalía, y se perdió el objetivo del foro. Pero fue una etapa muy linda. Ahora con el furor que causó Twitter y en especial el de Thalía es mas fácil que los mismos artistas digan a sus fans, donde estan, sus proximos proyectos etc etc, los sitios oficiales pasaron a un segundo plano. Igual espero que para el próximo album de Thalía, renueven la página oficial.
    P/D: Creo Princess Ana-Maria que te luciste con este post, en mi opinión uno de los que mas me gustó.

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 01:15:13

      Matu, gracias por compartir un pedacito de tus recuerdos de aquellos tiempos! y me alego que te haya gustado el post, realmente fue uno de los que mas me ilusiono y encanto escribir, aunque termino siendo un poco “bittersweet” (y no lo digo por lo del Later edit)

      Reply

  5. Daniela
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 02:00:18

    Muy buen post! Sobre todo para los nostálgicos que pasamos años de nuestras vidas debatiendo en ese Foro a lo largo de sus distintas etapas. Tan de antaño que casi no puedo recordar el principio -como las vivencias lejanas de cuando uno era muy chico- allà por el año 2000 con la promo de Arrasando y el patrocinio de Latino.com? Me acuerdo sì de la cuenta de mail que tuve que crearme en Latino.com, fanatica@latino.com, para poder hacer el user en el foro. En su momento era un muy buen punto de encuentro para estar al tanto de noticias, pero ya todos sabemos lo que fue pasando con el transcurso del tiempo.
    Hoy día por suerte tenemos Twitter, que nos permite tener contacto directo con Thalìa, que la convierte a ella en su propia vocera, sin intermediarios… y la verdad es que eso es òptimo! A veces extraño la interacción con los fans en el Foro, pero ni bien me acuerdo de algunas discusiones y comentarios o actitudes irritantes, enseguida me convenzo de que fue una buena y sana decisión la que se tomó. Lo que pienso que estaría bueno, es una página actualizada (linkeada a Twitter oficial de ThaLìa, por qué no) que recopile todas las noticias y que sirva como fuente de consulta y difusión, no solo para fans sino también para la prensa. Inclusive a veces pasa que la misma Thalìa RTea noticias incorrectas, etc. Me parece que es un bache que habría que cerrar, porque Thalia.com, a margen de lo que es el Foro, está completamente desactualizada… Saludos!

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 13:44:02

      gracias Dani! parece que he tocado un tema “delicado” al mencionar el foro, de verdad no se muchas cosas sobre lo que realmente paso por alli pero poco a poco me voy enterando hehe. estoy completamente de acuerdo contigo, gracias a Dios que existe el Twitter! con respecto a la pagina web tambien, y tal como dijo Matias, ojala que con el nuevo disco renueven la pagina y la mantengan actualizada. pienso que seria bueno tambien poder usarla para los concursos como YogaPose o ThaliaDesign para que la gente pueda subir sus fotos en el mismo lugar y sea mas facil para Thalia verlas a todas.

      Reply

  6. Kelly Cristina
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 01:47:50

    Hola! Una vez he podido accesar a estas páginas de los años anteriores, pero ya no me acuerdo cómo hacerlo. Podrías decirme cómo puedo entrar?

    Un abrazo!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Journey to the past: Thalia as one of People en Espanol’s “Los Mas Bellos” « Enséñame a vivir

Leave a Reply

