Happy 10th Birthday, “Thalía” (album)!

Today we’re celebrating the birthday of Thalia’s 7th studio album, which was released on May 21, 2002 in the USA and Latin America!

Her second self-titled album went straight to number one and it spent six consecutive weeks on Billboard’s Top Latin Album Chart and Top Latin Pop Albums.

The album received many Platinum and Gold certifications and was sold in more than 5,5 million copies worldwide.

Singles like “Tu y yo“, “No me ensenaste” and “A quien le importa” were #1 in lots of countries of Latin America, Europe and the USA, eventually becoming some of her greatest hits, while her three songs in English, “Dance dance (The Mexican)”, “Closer to you” and “You spin me round” prepared her crossover to the US market.

Looking back at users’ reviews on sites like Amazon, we find titles like “Thalia’s here, and better than ever!”, “Thalia one of the best around”, “Heavenly made!”, the album had lots of great reviews and was very well received by the public.

I don’t know how I would’ve felt about the album, had I listened to it 10 years ago when it was released (maybe the 10-year-old me would have enjoyed it haha) but ever since I became Thalia’s fan, this album has definitely been one of my favorites, I always have a great time listening to “Tu y yo” or “En la fiesta mando yo”, songs like “Asi es el destino” and “Y seguir” give me hope and strength when I need it, while “A quien le importa” is like one of my personal “anthems”… and just like I once said somewhere on this blog, “No me ensenaste” is one of the first songs that brought Thalia into my life.

I’m sure that for fans who have followed Thalia for many years before this album was released and up to this day, “Thalia” has a special place in their hearts and it’s truly great to be celebrating its 10 birthday today. That being said, let’s congratulate Thalia for doing such an amazing job, then listen to some of the songs that have been part of our lives for the past 10 years :D and watch some memorable live performances:

Source (foto & info): Wikipedia

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariel
    May 21, 2012 @ 21:42:01

    my personal anthems too were Y seguir & A quien le importa :D The unremixed Tu y yo, I dont like much as it’s kinda too noisy for me… but I like better the Cumbia remix. I dont really like remixes, so I like really few remixes: Tu y Yo (Cumbia), Gracias a Dios con Banda, Piel Morena (Hitmakers Remix), Mujer Latina (Remix España) & Por Amor (Primavera Vez Remix)

    No me enseñaste, Closer to You & En la fiesta mando yo were the other tracks I like.. the rest they are just so so lol

    I dont really like much her image here (as well as on the 2002 album). Too JLo-ish & other similar artist like her. Probably that’s the way that American market may notice her

    Not to mention her live performance at Latin Grammy 2003… that one is one of my top favorite & I can say one of her best performances ever!

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      May 21, 2012 @ 22:00:13

      haha, for someone who doesn’t really like remixes, you know and like a lot :P I’m not a big fan of remixes either.
      “I dont really like much her image here (as well as on the 2002 album)” uhm… this is the 2002 album :P but I don’t mind her image, it’s OK to me :D
      and yeaaaah, that performance is one of my favorites too! it’s so awesome!!

      Reply

      • Mariel
        May 22, 2012 @ 16:24:44

        ohh that must be a typo error.. what i actually mean is the 2003, the one with fat joe, the english one :D
        also the remixes.. only those i mention that i only like.. even other artists’ remixes, i just dont like remixes!! it ruins the original sound!

        i also like no me enseñaste live performance, i think it’s on premios juventud. i like when she’s doing the crane lifting or something & then the near end where the air effects is on her curly hair! love it!

  2. Lucas
    May 21, 2012 @ 23:06:09

    woow! pasa volando el tiempo… si, sin duda es uno de los mejores discos, yo para ese entonces tenia 7 años, venia escuchando y viendo sus novelas desde los 3, a partir de mi familia. Cuando salio este disco, estaba muy emocionado, fue el primer cd de Thalía que tuve. Me acuerdo que un día volví de la escuela y lo encontré ahí, arriba de la mesa, me lo habían regalado después de tanto que insistí jaja me puse muy contento.

    Reply

  3. Edward
    May 22, 2012 @ 04:22:47

    How can I forget Thalia 2002, this was a great time to be a fan of Thalia! She was everywhere with this album and she won many awards with this album as well. And I beg to differ, I think 2002 was one of her best looks in her career! Maybe because I’m a guy, but she was so sexy! :)

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Happy Birthday, Lunada! (album) « Enséñame a vivir

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

