What do we know about Thalia’s new album?

We know a lot… and we don’t know anything. I’m SO confused right now. And it’s killing me that I can’t be there. There… at her concert in New York on September 21. Why? Cause apparently it’s going to be recorded, which is kind of a Primera Fila déjà vu. Not because I couldn’t be there as well, cause at that time I almost didn’t even know her, but because just by watching the DVD or listening to the album, you know it’s a “once in a lifetime” experience. And now it turns out that it can be not only once, but twice. Am I making any sense? *takes a deep breath*

Ok, hold on, I got carried away, that’s not the introduction I was planning for this post. Let’s see… Thalia’s been talking about her new album for how long? 6 months? Almost a year? I have a bad memory😛 She’s not given us much details, but gathering a piece from here, a piece from there, we can have a general idea of what it’s going to be like.

First of all, I think one of the things that’s been mentioned the most are the duets. It could be one, it could be more… Looking back at Primera Fila, I’d say two, or even more. The question that remains is with whom? Thalia said she’s been working once again with Leonel Garcia (Cómo, Ya lo sabía) and also with Mario Domm (Equivocada). I’m just wondering whether they only composed the songs or also sang them together. And apparently Leonel will also have a duet with Thalia on his upcoming album, while Tony Bennett will have a duet with Thalia on his upcoming album. Could these two songs also be included on her album? For some reason I don’t think so…

Leonel and Mario aren’t the only ones that got to work with her for both Primera Fila and her new album. Thalia’s let us know that she’s also been working with the same musicians. I guess she’s got herself a pretty solid team and the results can only be great.

So we have duets, what about another medley? And what about cover songs? Thalia’s been asking not once, but many times, what songs we would like to hear her sing, and also which of her songs we’d love to hear in a medley. I’d bet something like this will be part of her new album, don’t you think?

Another thing that’s been bugging me is a series of tweets that she’s written not long ago, about working with a mysterious Mr. Walter A.

[tweet https://twitter.com/thalia/status/231247646944280576] [tweet https://twitter.com/thalia/status/231416197902659584]

[tweet https://twitter.com/thalia/status/231474101045317632]

Romantic song? #CancionCortaVenas? This could indicate that Mr. Walter A. is none other than Walter Afanasieff, the producer of Celine Dion’s “My heart will go on”. Need I say more?

And now, let’s talk about Habítame Siempre. At first I thought it was only the name of her concert, (honestly, I was hoping this was just something special she decided to do for her fans, maybe doing a live stream or something) but now that we’ve found out it’s going to be recorded, just like Primera Fila was, I can only assume that’s also the name of her new album, maybe even of a new song. The name clearly has a meaning for her, being probably dedicated to her late mother… But hey, I could be wrong, maybe the concert is not a recording of her next album, maybe it is just a special concert that’s gonna be recorded.😀

I think the biggest question about Thalia’s album is “how’s it going to be different and even better than Primera Fila?”. What surprises will it hold? So far it seems it’s been “cooked” by the same recipe as 1/F, so what secret ingredient will Thalia add this time? I guess we shall wait and see. But as I tweeted her the other day, I for one can’t wait to listen to her new songs, and with each day that passes, the wait gets harder. And now, knowing that I may have to wait even more, since I’m not going to be able to attend her concert and be among the first lucky persons to discover and enjoy her new work, it’s gonna be even harder. But I’m 100% it will be worth it, as Thalia assured us it’s going to be espectacular.

That’s about all I have to say about this topic for now, feel free to share your thoughts, your expectations or anything you’d like about this post or Thalia’s new album😀

PS: Sorry if I missed anything.

(photos: Thalia’s Instagram, Leonel Garcia’s Facebook page, freetix.com)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariel
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:43:14

    My Filipino friends also speculated that it will be 1F-ish.. just as we know that she’s working with the same team etc. We are just hoping it’s not very the same 1F… just look at the promo pic of Habitame Siempre, her team and the freetix.com link about the concert.. it was like the-making-of-1F again… well the only difference is that we dont know that its a live album thing before we know it’s 1F lol (i hope you got what i mean haha!). Well, as you said, we hope it’s better than that.

    There’s a high chance that that Habitame Siempre is one of her tracks from the album & first single. I think you already know that it’s written by the same composers of Equivocada, Domm & Bernal. Here’s the profile of Habitame on SACM (Sociedad de Autores y Compositores de Mexico): http://www.sacm.org.mx/archivos/rep_iswc_ora.asp?iswc=T0351860860. Although I cant confirm if this is the the same ‘Habitame’ by those two composers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MMqAhxaEOE (Habitame Siempre by MInnie West).. there’s a probability though as we know Thalia loves to do covers lol! I cant find any other info of Minnie West other than a Twitter account… so the only chance to prove is to wait for the concert and press releases any time soon.

    Also, yes it’s with Walter Afanasieff https://twitter.com/IvanQuezadaR/status/231484664945184768😀

    Reply

    • Edward
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 06:51:37

      Thalia has definitely been working on this album for over a year. Remember around the time her mom passed, Leonel Garcia gave an interview where he said he had just been in the studio with Thalia a couple of days before her mom died. I cannot find the video on Youtube of the interview though. Also, there was this other guy, I think he is from Cuba, his name is Francisco Cespedes, and he pretty much confirmed that Thalia was working on the second part to Primera Fila, here is the link to the article. http://www.tvnotas.com.mx/2011/09/12/C-17884-pancho-cespedes-un-cubano-de-corazon-muy-mexicano.php/

      I am super excited for this album. If it’s going into the same direction as Primera Fila, it will be amazing! I am also excited for the concert. I hope it is released in FULL on DVD and my life will be complete! Besides the unplugged album, I’ve always wanted a LIVE in Concert DVD as well, so I will cross my fingers. It definitely seems like it will be less intimate than Primera Fila because PF was filmed with roughly 300-400 people in the audience. This will definitely be bigger with over 3,500 people.

      By the way, besides this flawless website, is there another place where you guys go to get your Thalia info from other fans? Ever since her official forum shut down, I haven’t found a place where all the fans go. It seems twitter is now the only place to get news directly from Thalia herself, however, it’s fun to interact with other fans in a forum type of setting because you usually end up finding out more. For example, the links that Mariel posted about the guy asking Walter A. on FB, I had no idea about!

      Reply

  2. Isidro
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:46:04

    It seems like there is too much info about the new cd but in reality there isnt much. All i know is that it will be a studio album. The concert in new york will be for a special that will air on a major spanish channel. I think its going to be univision together with televisa. Thalia’s team is starting with the promotion in full blast.

    Have you guys also heard a demo for habitame siempre? Its now circulating around on the internet. Its an unknown girl singing the song and let me tell you… Its beautiful. So if its that song for THALIAAAA it will sound so much better with her musical arrangement and voice.

    And according to a friend i have been talking to on fb, he met a journalist from LA THAT KNOWS THINGS ABOUT THALIA. Supposely, it will be a big ballad as first single. And he will reveal name of first single any moment.

    Reply

  3. anamariao7
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 15:09:38

    @Mariel I had just discovered that song after publishing the post, I also read that “Habitame Siempre” is written by Domm & Brenal but I didn’t know where they got that from, now I see🙂 and that response from Afanasieff looks interesting, as he mentioned a “duet”…

    it looks like Isidro’s idea of the concert being a special that will air on TV seems to be true, given the latest info released by MDC Thalia… don’t know what to say about that journalist from LA, a couple of days ago I read a tweet from some radio guy announcing that the first single will be released on September 28 or smth like that, but then Sony Music Mexico said they still don’t have any info about the first single…

    if that song is a demo for Thalia’s “Habitame Siempre”, I can see it becoming a huge hit if she sings it😀

    @Edward for some reason I don’t trust tvnotas.com that guy may be under the impression that this new album is a Primera Fila Part 2 and as long as he’s only hoping his songs will be part of it, who knows… and tell me, are you going to the concert in NY? “besides this flawless website” (I love you hahaha) I can recommend you Mariel’s site (nuestrathalia.com) for the latest pictures of Thalia, thaliadiva.wordpress.com for all that’s in the news about her, and regarding forums, I only visit Univision’s forum for Thalia’s fans http://foro.univision.com/t5/Thalia/bd-p/thalia although it has more haters than fans… and another one that I visit sometimes http://thaliatrilogy.mforos.com/ I think you’ll like it more.

    Reply

  4. Romina
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:30:25

    Do you know what songs Thalia composed in primera fila? Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Romina
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:31:52

    and what songs she might have composed in the new one?🙂 thanks!

    Reply

    • anamariao7
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 19:37:05

      I have no idea😀 the ones she sang during the concert were mostly covers or composed by others, but since she said that was just a part of the album, maybe she personally worked on the rest of it.

      Reply

  6. Trackback: Thalia – Habítame Siempre (Album cover, Tracklist, Previews and more) « Enséñame a vivir

Leave a Reply

